MX Player receives “Best OTT Platform”


For the platform and its original series, Aashram, MX Player won three honours at the recently held Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards 2022. MX Player received the Best OTT Platform Award, Prakash Jha received the Best Director Award for his web series Aashram, and Chandan Roy Sanyal received the Best Supporting Actor Award for his performance as Bhopa Swami in Aashram.

The Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards, named after the Father of Indian Cinema, are given to the entertainment industry each year to recognise exceptional efforts in several categories. The 18th edition of the Awards ceremony, held in Mumbai to honor Dadasaheb Phalke on his 151st birthday, featured a who’s who of OTT, TV, and film producers, directors, actors, authors, composers, technicians, distributors, exhibitors, and studio owners.

MX Player offers a big and diverse fan base in India, a global reach of 33+ markets, and a strong understanding of the audience’s pulse thanks to its ad-supported business model. It recently released a number of ground-breaking internet shows, including Aashram, Bhaukaal Matsya Kaand, Samantar, High, and Campus Diaries.

“At MX Player, we think that relevant and strong storytelling has the ability to challenge thought and delight audiences at the same time,” said Chief Operating Officer (COO) Nikhil Gandhi. Aashram confirms our conviction by winning the Best OTT Platform award and two other accolades for our popular series.

“Thank you, Dadsaheb Phalke Excellence Awards 2022, for the honor of recognizing our work in bringing highly regarded stories to audiences in India and around the world. We also want to extend our congratulations to Prakash Jha and Chandan Roy Sanyal for their respective victories,” Gandhi said.

On June 3, 2022, MX Player released the third season of Aashram. Ek Badnaam has all the vital components of an interesting program that combines politics, crime, and drama. The central theme of Aashram 3 is the rapid ascent of godmen in India and how the populace follows them mindlessly because of religion.

The most recent Season 3 broke the previous two seasons’ record by receiving 100 Million views in the first 32 hours of publication. The series, which is directed by Prakash Jha, stars an ensemble cast that includes Bobby Deol, Aaditi Pohankar, Chandan Roy Sanyal, Darshan Kumaar, Esha Gupta, Sachin Shroff, Adhyayan Suman, Tridha Choudhury, Vikram Kochhar, Anuritta K Jha, Rushad Rana, Tanmaay Ranjan, Preeti So

The CEO of Prakash Jha Productions (PJP), Sunil Agarwal, Madhvi Bhatt, and Disha Jha each accepted the Best Director’s Award. Prakash Jha expressed his gratitude for receiving the Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards 2022 for Best Director for the web series Aashram, saying, “I feel extremely delighted to have received the Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards 2022 for Best Director for Web series Aashram.

It was a pleasure working with the MX Player team, who were supportive of all of our choices. Unfortunately, I am unable to personally accept it due to unforeseen circumstances. I appreciate the jury considering me and awarding me this prize.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, LinkedIn & Twitter